September 21, 1991, the day of the referendum for independence of Armenia. Based on the results of the referendum (99% voted for independence), the parliament (The Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR) adopted the Declaration of Independence and announced the independence of the Republic of Armenia. This date is now a national holiday - the Independence Day.


The Republic of Armenia is a sovereign, democratic, social, rule of law state. The state power is administered pursuant to the Constitution and the laws based on the principle of separation of the legislative, executive and judicial branches.


The Republic of Armenia is a member of the United Nations, Council of Europe, Organization of Security and Cooperation in Europe, Commonwealth of Independent States, Black Sea Economic Cooperation, World Trade Organization, World Tourism Organization, World Health Organization, International Civil Aviation Organization, INTERPOL.


The Constitution:

Was adopted on July 5, 1995, through a popular referendum. Adopted by referendum on 27 November, 2005.

The system of Government:

The Republic of Armenia has a presidential system of government.
In accordance with the Constitution, the President ensures compliance with the Constitution, the normal operation of the legislative, the executive and the judiciary, and serves as the guarantor of sovereignty, territorial integrity and security of the Republic. The President is elected by the citizens of the Republic of Armenia for a five-year term.

The Executive Power:

The executive power in the Republic of Armenia belongs to the Government of the Republic. The Government is composed of the Prime Minister and the Ministers. The President of the Republic appoints and removes the Prime Minister of the Republic. The President also appoints and removes all members of the Government nominated by the Prime Minister.

The Legislative Power:

Legislative power in the Republic of Armenia belongs to the National Assembly. The National Assembly is a 131-seat body. Last parliamentary elections were held in May 2007.

The Judicial Power:

In the Republic of Armenia, justice is carried out by Courts in accordance with the Constitution and the Law. In the Republic of Armenia, the courts of general competence are: courts of the first instance, review courts and the Court of Appeals. There are also economic, military and other courts provided by the Law.

Administrative Division:

Eleven marzes (provinces): Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir, Gegharkunik, Lori, Kotayk, Shirak, Syunik, Vayots Dzor, Tavoush, Yerevan.


Copyright: www.president.am

Tailor Made Tours
Plan Your Trip to Armenia
Exchange Rates
Useful Links
Site Map
Weather in Armenia

Copyright@ Five Stars Travel 2008-2009